Skip to content

Seven Inducted Into Hall of Fame

Inducted into the Jeff Davis High School Football Hall of Fame Friday night were, front, Dexter Knox (1980s). Back, from left, Scottie Graham representing his late brother Neil Graham (supporting role), Sammy Beecher (1970s), Tommy Purser (supporting role), Jason Carter (1990s) and Matt Wise (2000s). Not pictured is E.M. Wilkes III who represented Arley Finley (1950s-60s).

2021 Legacy Players selected to wear the jerseys of the six original inductees into the Jeff Davis High School Football Hall of Fame are, from left, front row, Carter Mullis — Calvin Harrison’s No. 22, Tyson Alls — Nate Hybl’s No. 16, Nate Lewis – Mike Stewart’s No. 66, Landon Roberson — Deshay McKever’s No. 47, and Kiyon Dotson — Barry Jones’ No. 34. Not pictured is Tre Chandler — James Earl Cray’s No. 10. In back are Garrett Harrison, representing his late father Calvin Harrison, Mike Stewart, Dejay McKever and Barry Jones. Nate Hybl and James Earl Cray were unable to attend Friday’s Gala.

The BYK Event Hall was almost at capacity last Friday night for the Third Legends Gala where seven more names were added to the Yellow Jacket Football Hall of Fame.
Players inducted were Arley Finley from the 1950s-1960s, Sammy Beecher from the 1970s, Dexter Knox from the 1980s, Jason Carver from the 1990s and Matt Wise from the 2000s. Supporting role inductees were former coach and player the late Neil Graham and Ledger Editor-Publisher Tommy Purser.
Accepting on behalf of Finley, who is 85 years old and was unable to travel from Texas for Friday’s event, was Hall of Famer E.M. Wilkes III. Scottie Graham accepted on behalf of his late brother Neil Graham. The other inductees were present to receive their awards.
Six current Yellow Jacket players were honored as Legacy Players, chosen to wear this fall the jersey numbers of the six original Hall of Fame members, Calvin Harrison, Mike Stewart, Deshay McKever, Barry Jones, James Earl Cray and Nate Hybl.
Carter Mullis is to wear Harrison’s number, Nate Lewis – Stewart’s number, Landon Roberson – McKever’s number, Kiyon Dotson – Jones’ number, Tre Chandler – Cray’s number and Tyson Alls – Hybl’s number.
Saturday, following the Gala, some 100 players participated in the Legends Golf Tournament held at Little Ocmulgee State Park.

A big crowd was on hand for Friday night’s Gala

Coach Lance Helton addresses the crowd

Finalist in the drawing for $1,000

Leave a Comment