Skip to content

School Board Meets

At the December meeting of the Jeff Davis County Board of Education, Jeff Davis Pre-K Director Chris Campbell recognized the following students for having the most academic growth since August.
● Kate Mullis, Miquel Miranda – Mrs. Medders’ Class
● David Olvera, Fallyn Carter, Zaleigh Wooten – Mrs. Daughtry’s Class
● Isabel Zarraga, Samuel Lopez-Ramirez – Mrs. Carter’s Class
● Elena McKinney, Ilam Valencia – Mrs. Summerlin’s Class
● Blakley Sanchez, Waylon Lightsey – Mrs. Rea’s Class
● Adaleigh Fountain, Matthew Ascencio – Mrs.Edward’s Class
● Axel Marquez-Sanchez, Alana Fales – Mrs. Burke’s Class
● Steven Merritt, Brooklyn Herrington – Mrs. Creech’s Class
An update on the curriculum schools are using in Pre-K-12th grades was given by
Dr. Shelly McBride.
Benjamin Glosson was recognizedfor his years of service as a school resource officer at Jeff Davis Elementary School (2018-2020)
George Gainer was recognized for his years of service as a Board of Education member (2017-2020).
School Superintendent Dr. Chris Roppe presented each a plaque in appreciation of their service to Jeff Davis County Schools.
Procedures, Operations, and Support:
Jeff Davis High School Principal Greer Smith updated the Board on possible early graduation options for students and the Board voted to approve the procedures.
The Board set the date, time, and location for 2021 board meetings, approved to continue utilizing the services of local attorney Lamar A. Elder Jr. and to use the law firm of Harben, Hartley, and Hawkins on an as needed basis.
The Board agreed to move forward with the request to enclose the batting cages at the girls softball ball facility.
Dr. Roppe presented financial reports to the Board.
Noemi Acuna DeLeon was hired as a 9-12 Math Teacher.
Dr. Roppe received a quote of $310,000 from Parrish Construction Co. to construct a canopy at Jeff Davis Elementary School.

Leave a Comment