Skip to content

Board recognizes media program

Last year, the Jeff Davis Board of Education approved a recommendation from Jeff Davis High principal Dr. Greer Smith to enter into a new program to allow high school media students to handle the broadcasts of sports events during the 2022-2023 school year.
And the program has turned out to be wildly successful.
At Monday’s school board meeting, Smith shared how well the program has worked and was effusive in his praise for the work the students have been doing under the guidance of teachers Richard Ryles and Kay Stafford. The students have been broadcasting the school’s games, beginning with softball in the fall and continuing through the football, basketball, baseball, etc.
Students recognized at Monday’s meeting along with Ryles and Stafford were:
Aleah Parker – 11th Technical Director (Football Travel Team)
Alan Lopez – 12th Cameraman (Football Travel Team)
Moises Sibaja – 11th Lead Cameraman (Football & Baseball Travel Team)
Carl McCullar – 10th Lead Production Assistant
Chloe Moser – 12th Production Assistant
Kennedy Medders – 12 Lead Replay Operator
Victoria Alejo – 9th Lead Photographer
Katie Wallace – 10th Lead Photographer
Ethan Dixon – 10th Cameraman/Technical Director (Baseball Travel Team)
Hezel Perez – 10th Cameraman
Aoife McCarthy – 11th Cameraman
DeQuayus Black – 10th Cameraman
Diana Hernandez – 10th Photographer
Jennifer Sibaja – 12th Production Assistant
Special Education Director Mary Susan Arnold highlighted the high school Coffee Buzz and Coffee Cart programs in which special education students sell refreshments to students and staff, learning valuable life and work skills to enhance their ability to gain employment after high school.
She recognized Coffee Buzz Employee of the Year Noah Parker and Coffee Cart Employee of the Year Ahmad Brown.
Arnold also recognized special education teacher Cheryl Lovett, one of the most popular teachers with students at the high school, and awarded her the Debra Brantley Award, as an outstanding teacher in the special education program. Arnold shared that Lovett had been accepted into the Georgia Association of Educational Leaders’ Sp Ed Administrator Development Academy which consists of special education teachers who are proven teacher leaders and aspire to move into an administrative position in the field of special education. Arnold said 86 teachers across the state applied for the program and Lovett was one of 36 accepted.
In other action at Monday’s meeting, the board ….
…. approved board member Larry Allen’s as the delegate to the Georgia School Board Association and Greg Brantley as the alternate.
…. approved a Five-Year Facility Plan.
…. approved moving forward with the procedures included in the current Board policy entitled School Properties Disposal Procedures. All approved with the exception of David Miller who voted no.
…. okayed and out of state trip for the Jeff Davis Elementary School Beta Club to compete in Beta Nationals in Louisville, Ken. June 21-23.
…. approved to let the ELA Textbook Adoption Process sit for 30 days for public review.
…. accepted the resignations school system mental health counselor Giselle Reddy, elementary school teacher/coach Tim Suttles, elementary school teacher Carmen Suttles, primary school paraprofessional Sebrenna Garrett.
…. approved recommendations to hire certified employees for the 2023-2024 school year, primary school teachers Sebrenna Garrett, Marlee Colson, Shelby Carelock and Chanmi (Praise) Baltazar, and elementary school teachers Deborah Marchant, Dylan Taylor, and Vicki Hussey.

Leave a Comment