Skip to content

Board discusses facilities options

At Monday night’s meeting of the Jeff Davis County Board of Education, Architect Scott Fry again talked with the Board about plans for the elementary school renovation, to include an alternative plan for how the Board will meet the future facilities needs for the school system.
With the primary school being the oldest school in the system, school officials along with Fry have been exploring several state funding options, including the option to build a K-5 facility and perhaps using the existing 3-5 facility for another purpose. Superintendent Dr. Chris Roppe explained that, because of the state funding available, building a K-5 facility could be done with less local expense than remodeling the 3-5 building — Jeff Davis Elementary School — and building a new K-2 building — Jeff Davis Primary School — resulting in a longer useful life span for K-5 over the life span of the current elementary school.
Whatever path the Board chooses to follow it will be several years before they can deal with the aging primary school problem.
Before Monday’s meeting began, Dr. Roppe took time top recognize retiring Assistant Superintendent Chuck Crosby and thank him for everything he has done for the school system.
In other action, the Board ….
….looked on as Pre-K Director Chris Campbell recognized boy and girl from each class who had the highest academic achievement. Honored were Bryson Beauchamp and Emilee Hyers from Mrs. Rea’s class, McKinley Taylor and Kross Meeks from Mrs. Burke’s class, Knox Purvis and Hadley Wilcox from Mrs. Carter’s class, Brooklyn Rentz and Cormick Griffin from Mrs. Carelock’s class, Brooklyn Leggett and Trey Turner from Mrs. Medders’ class, Kase Medders and Sammi Parker from Mrs. Creech’s class, Dalilah Branch and Kane Carter from Mrs. Daughtry’s class, and Isaac Fitzwater and Arianna Lopez from Mrs. Edward’s class.
…. listened as middle school principal Dr. Brent Coleman recognized Vincent Ly and Victoria Alejo, who received the REACH scholarship.
…. was presented Jeff Davis High School annuals from the editors of the annual who were introduced by Tracey Livingston McNeal, annual staff advisor. Students presenting the annuals were Demi Rush, Lisbet Aquirre, Abby Toler and Lexi Girtman.
…. listened as Dr. Natalie Hayes gave update and insurance, teacher certifications and staffing for FY23.
…. reviewed proposed redistricting lines for the Jeff Davis County Commission districts, the boundaries of which will also be used for school board elections if they are approved by the County Commission.
…. approved the recommendation to hire Parrish Construction for the renovation of the elementary school.
…. approved for public review policy covering long term leave for school employees.
…. approved a quote from Airpro Heating and Cooling to install air conditioning in the bus shop.
…. okayed out of state trips for the middle school band to Busch Gardens in Florida and agriculture student Brooklyn Parlor to compete in the Jr. Patriot Rodeo in Fort Worth, Texas.
…. approved the 2022 board meeting schedules.
…. rehired local attorney Lamar A. Elder Jr. and Harben, Hartley and Hawkins on an as-needed basis.
…. agreed to apply for reimbursement from the state for the costs of the high school renovation project.
…. approved the resignations custodians Layla Brinkley, Jacob Ward and Bonnie Holt, and the termination of custodian Neida Oliver.
…. approved recommendations to hit elementary school paraprofessional Morgan Pearson, Inclusion Special Education paraprofessional Laura Fitzwater and maintenance director Grant Miles.

Leave a Comment