Skip to content

Softball awards presented

There were lots of awards to go around at the 2023 Jeff Davis High School softball banquet and none were quite so appropriate than the Players of the Year award that went to the seven seniors on the team.
The members of the Class of 2024 hit the ground running as freshmen four years ago as most of the group started for the Lady Jackets as ninth graders, when Coach Steven Wilcox’ team posted a 28-8 record. As sophomores the team posted a 26-8 record and as juniors they went 34-1 and won the Class AA State Championship.
Their senior year, they went 31-5 and were the Class AA State Runner-ups.
Over their four years of playing softball, they had a record of 119-22, were state champs one year and runner-ups another. All four years, the Lady Jackets advanced to the Elite 8 in the state playoffs.
The seniors named Players of the Year were Addison Brewer, Bentlee Metts, Kalleigh Sellers, Laisha Hernandez, Bentlee Metts, Jenna Miles and Jaci Underwood.
Other awards won by the group included:
Jaci Underwood – Georgia High School Association (GHSA) Class AA Player of the Year, Georgia Athletic Coaches Association (GACA) Class AA Player of the Year, Region 1AA Player of the Year, and Best Offensive Player on the JDHS team.
Jenna Miles – GACA First Team All-State, First Team All-Region, Best Offensive Player on the JDHS team.
Laisha Hernandez – GACA First Team All-State, First Team All-Region, JDHS Best Defensive Player.
Bentlee Metts – GACA Second Team All-State, First Team All-Region.
Kalleigh Sellers – Second Team All-Region.
And Ella Wood – JDHS Pride of the Jackets award winner.
Underclassmen winning awards were:
Sophomore Claire Stinson – First Team All-Region.
Sophomore Carrie Ellen Arnold – First Team All-Region, Team Best Pitcher.
Sophomore Cori Mims – Second Team All-Region.
Freshman Ava Bohanon – Second Team All-Region.
And freshman Jaqueline Villasenor – Second Team All-Region.
JV winners:
Best Defense – Alera Vann.
Best Offense – Alara McCall.
Pitching Award – Riley Hughes, Jaqueline Villasenor.
Player of the Year – Jazmine Villasenor.
Pride of the Jackets – Payton Warnock.

Leave a Comment