Skip to content

XC teams earn honors

The Altamaha Area cross country teams were released Nov. 14.
The Altamaha Area awards consists of 15 schools from 11 counties that border the Altamaha River to the north and the south. The awards were established in 2018 by cross country coaches to honor the best cross country runners in the area. The awards honor the Runner of the Year, Freshman of the Year, Coach of the Year, as well as, seven individuals each for First Team, Second Team, and Honorable Mention.
The Jeff Davis team was well represented this year with 11 members of the team making the list. Six members of the boys team and five members of the girls team were named to the awards.
Glynn Academy (6A) was the only school that had more runners named to the list with a total of 13 runners, seven boys and six girls. The Glynn Academy and Jeff Davis teams dominated both the boys and girls lists. Vidalia had the next most with five total, four boys and one girl.
The following runners received honors.
1st Team Girls
Ellie Kate Marchant
2nd Team Girls
Ali Lewis
Honorable Mention Girls
Rebeca Lopez
Aurie Taylor
Lily Relihan
2nd Team Boys
Pierce Parlor
Josue Avila
Gael Valora
Honorable Mention Boys
Mario Franco
Jose Luis Mendoza
Konnor Munsayac

Leave a Comment