Skip to content

Tuesday is election day

Bayne Stone

Laneka Smith

John Ramay

Diane Leggett

Landon Chavis

John Bloodworth

Tuesday is election day for Jeff Davis County and the City of Hazlehurst with four candidates running for Mayor, three for the Ward 3 council position and two for the Ward 4 council seat.
And the Special Purpose Local Option Sales Tax (SPLOST) will be on the ballot for all county voting precincts. City voters will vote at their normal county voting site to vote in both the city election and the SPLOST referendum.
Incumbent Mayor Bayne Stone drew three challengers for his seat — current Ward 4 council member John Bloodworth, former Ward 2 council member John Ramay who had to resign his council post in order to run, and political newcomer Laneka Shevelle Smith.
Ward 3 council member Diane Leggett is being challenged by Christopher M. Jones and Matthew Ashton Rentz.
And the Ward 4 council seat, currently held by Bloodworth, has two candidates — Landon Jeffrey Chavis and Jose Guadalupe Zamora Jr.
Early voting is now underway and will end this Friday at 5 p.m. Early voting is from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. at the Jeff Davis County Courthouse. Tuesday voting will be at the county voting precincts.
Tuesday’s SPLOST vote is to continue with the current SPLOST for another six years.

Leave a Comment