Skip to content

Nine JDHS runners named to Altamaha Area Cross Country Teams

Nine members of the Jeff Davis High School cross country teams earned honors as members of the 2022 Altamaha Area Cross Country Teams, including Coach Will Wood who was named the Boys Coach of the Year.
Yellow Jackets receiving First Team honors were girls runner senior Alexandra Uribe and boys runner junior Kevin Vega.
Second Team honorees were girls runner freshman Ellie Kate Marchant and boys runners junior Pierce Parlor and sophomore Josue Avila.
Girls earning Honorable Mention awards were senior Flor Rangel and sophomore Lily Relihan, and named Honorable Mention boy runner was sophomore Gael Valora.
The Altamaha Area Cross Country Teams, Runner of the Year, Freshman of the Year, and Coach of the Year were established in 2018 by the collective of coaches in the counties that border the Altamaha River. The idea behind the establishment of the awards is to recognize athletes and coaches for their hard work throughout the cross country season.
There are 16 eligible schools from 11 counties, which include Jeff Davis County, Telfair County, Montgomery County, Vidalia, Vidalia Heritage Academy, Toombs County, Tattnall County, Long County, McIntosh County Academy, Brunswick, Glynn Academy, Frederica Academy, Heritage Christian Academy, Wayne County and Appling County

Girls Coach of the Year: Christopher Gunter, Glynn Academy.
Award Name Grade School
Runner of The Year Georgia Meredith 2025 Vidalia
Freshman of the Year Maura Thomas 2026 Glynn Academy
1st Team Macey Higgason 2026 Long County
1st Team Lexi Alberson 2023 Glynn Academy
1st Team Wyleigh Foulk 2026 Glynn Academy
1st Team Carolina Wessel 2025 Glynn Academy
1st Team Maggie Dorminy 2026 Frederica Academy
1st Team Emma Kirkland 2025 Brunswick
1st Team Alexandra Uribe 2023 Jeff Davis
2nd Team Abigail Winford 2025 Glynn Academy
2nd Team Maylasia Ingram 2025 Wayne County
2nd Team Isabella Albright 2023 Glynn Academy
2nd Team Ellie Kate Marchant 2026 Jeff Davis
2nd Team Lacey Reedy 2023 Glynn Academy
2nd Team Sydney Haywood 2025 Brunswick
2nd Team Priscilla Ortiz 2023 Wayne County
Honorable Mention Rebecca Proenza 2024 Vidalia Heritage Academy
Honorable Mention Penny Paris 2026 Glynn Academy
Honorable Mention Kaitlyn Sunderhaus 2025 Frederica Academy
Honorable Mention Aleaha Ajohda 2025 Vidalia
Honorable Mention Lily Relihan 2025 Jeff Davis
Honorable Mention Flor Rangel 2023 Jeff Davis
Honorable Mention Ashlyn Pittman 2025 Wayne County

Boys Coach of the Year: Will Wood, Jeff Davis
Award Name Grade School
Runner of the Year Jack Roberts 2025 Glynn Academy
Freshman of the Year Noah Abaraca 2026 Glynn Academy
1st Team Cameron Gazaway 2025 Glynn Academy
1st Team Daniel Zamudio 2024 Brunswick
1st Team Maxwell Wakeland 2024 Glynn Academy
1st Team Kevin Vega 2024 Jeff Davis
1st Team Seth Mcgregor 2023 Vidalia
1st Team Andrew Hodges 2024 Vidalia
1st Team Zachry Reed 2024 Brunswick
2nd Team Stephen Bacon 2024 Tattnall County High School
2nd Team Cole Albright 2025 Glynn Academy
2nd Team Pierce Parlor 2024 Jeff Davis
2nd Team Shawn Young 2025 Long County
2nd Team Griffin Lee 2023 Glynn Academy
2nd Team Josue Avila 2025 Jeff Davis
2nd Team Jermaine McMillan 2025 Appling County
Honorable Mention Chamlee Evans 2025 Vidalia
Honorable Mention Ryan Thomas 2024 Brunswick
Honorable Mention Dillian Morse 2024 Long County
Honorable Mention Gael Valora 2025 Jeff Davis
Honorable Mention A.J. Blackmon 2023 Long County
Honorable Mention Jonah Galli 2023 Appling County
Honorable Mention Jude Owen 2025 Vidalia

Leave a Comment