Skip to content

ESPLOST Vote Will Be May 24

Jeff Davis County Supervisor of Elections Christy Riner has set May 24 as the date for a special election to determine whether or not the Transportation Special Purpose Local Option Sales Tax, informally known as T-SPLOST, will continue to be collected by counties in the Heart of Georgia Altamaha Special Tax District.
Persons not presently registered to vote must do so by April 25 to be able to vote in the May 24 election.
Included in the published call for election (see elsewhere in this edition) are specific projects to be financed through proceeds from T-SPLOST should the district’s voters approve it. The projects were selected by city and county officials attending the Heart of Georgia Altamaha special district roundtable.
For the T-SPLOST to go into effect, a majority of the voters in the entire special tax district must approve the referendum. If approved, it will continue for another 10 years.
The Heart of Georgia Altamaha Special Tax District Region includes Jeff Davis, Appling, Bleckley, Candler, Dodge, Emanuel, Evans, Johnson, Laurens, Montgomery, Tattnall, Telfair, Toombs, Treutlen, Wayne, Wheeler, and Wilcox counties.
Projects in Jeff Davis County to be funded by T-SPLOST include improvements to Bell Telephone Road, Ira Graham Road, McCall Road, Claxton Road, Hinson Landing Road, Towns Bluff Road, Amanda Thompson Road and Preston Long Road.
Projects in the City of Hazlehurst include Latimer Street, Burketts Ferry Road, South Williams Street, Hatten Still Road, South Miller Street, North Miller Street, MLK Jr. Drive, West Plum Street, Pine Forest Avenue, Collins Street, North Gill Street, Currie Street, South Cromartie Street, Bell Street, North Railroad Street, South Railroad Street Projects in the City of Denton include East Georgia Avenue, East Tennessee Avenue, Smith Street, Loop Road and MLK Street.


Leave a Comment