Skip to content

Dr. Shelly McBride Named Primary Principal

Dr. Shelly McBride was named the new principal at Jeff Davis Primary School at the Board of Education’s February meeting.
Dr. McBride will take the place of current JDPS Principal Adam Kirby who was named Director of Facilities and Operations at the Board’s January meeting. Dr. McBride currently serves as Director of Curriculum and Professional Learning in the school system.
Mr. Kirby kicked off the Board’s February meeting by recognizing primary school students who had the highest average scores on their last two math and reading assessments.
Recognized were:
2nd grade math: Tanner Ramay, 98%, Autumn Thompson, 100% and Case Saunders, 100%.
2nd grade reading: Jacob Sanchez 189, Brenton Bridges 167, and David Giddens 144.
1st grade math: Chrisley Bohannon, 98%, Zachary Jarrell, 98%, and Dalton McLoon, 100%.
1st grade reading: Hudson Crawford 91, Braxton Bridges 76 and Mason Powell 57.
Kindergarten: Cameron Lawson, 91%, Annsleigh Hand, 91%, Bixlei Bargstadt, 91% and Jessi Wilkerson 94%.
Following the recognition, Superintendent Dr. Chris Roppe commended the children’s parents for working with their children at home which resulted in the high scores.
In other action at the meeting, the Board ….
…. heard from Dr. Shelly McBride who discussed the elementary school reading curriculum “Into Reading.” The Board agreed to place the curriculum on the school system Facebook page for 30 days for public review.
…. adopted a resolution requesting a 1-year extension on the system’s five-year facilities plan.
….approved support of House Bill 91 in the Georgia Legislature, a petition on behalf of former students to award them high school diplomas once the students meet requirements for their graduation year.
…. adopted an Education Special Purpose Local Option Sales Tax resolution, recommended by Finance Director Betty Corbitt, authorizing a call for a school bond election to be held May 24.
…. heard financial reports from Mrs. Corbitt.
…. accepted a property deed gifted by the Board of Commissioners to the School Board.
…. approved the 2022-2023 proposed school calendar.
…. approved long term leave requests.
…. accepted the resignations of custodians Justin T. Clay, Janie Dixon and Esmerald Acuna, primary paraprofessional Candice Giddens, high school Spanish teacher Rubi Morfin Stanley, high school special education teacher Leah Flowers, 49% high school teachers John Walker and Leaette Williamson, primary teacher Jana Murray, and middle school teachers L.J. Stella and Heather Stodghill.
…. approved the retirements of elementary media specialist Beverly (Susie) Taylor (28 years), elementary counselor Roxie Crosby (30 years), high school teacher J. Charlene Terry (28 years), primary counselor Kenneth Parlor (30 years), and high school teacher Connie Toole (30 years).
…. approved recommendations for 2022-2023 certified administrative personnel, elementary school assistant principal Stafford King, kindergarten paraprofessional Melissa Meeks, and custodians Amanda Peavey, Nora Davis and Michelle Simmons.

Leave a Comment