Skip to content

Board Chooses Leadership

The Jeff Davis County Board of Education Monday night reelected Roger Ogilvie to a 2-year term as chairman and Andy Ramay to a 2-year term as vice chairman.
Middle school principal Dr. Brent Coleman recognized the school’s boys cross country team and boys soccer team which won the 2020 conference championships.
Members of the cross country team were Gael Valora, Josue Avila, Jovani Barragan, Payton Parlor, Konnor Munsayac, Eduardo Valencia, Bryan Hulett, Will Morris, Jaiden Cothran, Christian Dunn, De’Shon Collins and Erick Trejo. They were coached by Omar Franco and Haley Howell.
Members of the soccer team were Alex Berrequin, Axel Roldero, Bryan Hulett, Caidon Diaz, Colby Yarbrough, Daniel Andablo, Eduardo Valencia, Emiliano Valdelamar, Fabian Valdelamar, Freulin Villareal, Gael Valora, Jose Luis Mendoza, Josue Avila, Jovani Barragan, JT Clifton, Kevin Velazco, Luis Quiroz, Manny Porras, Peyton Parlor, Rodrigo Escalera, Servando Vega and Caden Cater. Coaches were Fernando “Chevy” Chavez, Omar Franco and Cristian Torres.
Superintendent Dr. Chris Roppe updated the board on the new tennis courts and the annex building. There is a problem with the net poles on the tennis courts which is being address by Parrish Construction company and Dr. Roppe presented a quote from Parrish on the cost of drainage and concrete work at the annex. The district will move forward with the project.
Quotes were presented from Parrish Construction and Parlor Lawn Care on development of athletic/band practice fields. Parlor Lawn Care was awarded the job and will begin work on the land cleared adjacent to the football stadium.
After Finance Director Betty Corbitt gave board members financial updates, the board approved a consent agenda which included approving a pay increase for special education bus monitors, accepting the resignations of teachers Brent Goldman and Monica Castaneda, and the retirement of Tammy Girtman, and hiring Bobby Byron as a middle school paraprofessional, Karson Kirkland as a high school special education inclusion teacher, Patricia Farrington as a high school paraprofessional and Dylan Churchill as a high school special education inclusion teacher.

Leave a Comment