Skip to content

City Election Qualifying

Qualifying for the 2019 City of Hazlehurst election has been set for Aug. 19-21, from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
The election will be held Nov. 5 at the Jeff Davis County Courthouse.
Up for election this year are the Mayor’s seat and City Commissioners from Wards 3 and 4.
The fee to run for Mayor is $360 and for council members it is $72.
The last day to register and be eligible to vote in the election is Oct. 7.
Announcing for Mayor so far are incumbent Bayne Stone and challenger Eric Griffin, who is currently the Ward 3 City Commissioner.

Announcing for the Ward 3 council seat are Diane Leggett and Johnny Miles.
Announcing for the Ward 4 council seat are incumbent John Bloodworth and challenger Rickey Phillips.
No one has announced their intentions to run for the Ward 3 seat.

Aug-19-19 8:30 am - Aug-19-19 4:30 pm